We are the Home We Build | Poetry Breakdown

We dream of traversing the unknown,
to lay our memories upon them and being able to call them ours. 
We dream of floor to ceiling bookshelves,
sculpted seats suited for comfortable silences,
sunlight streaming and reaching every dark corner. 
We dream of erupting joyous giggles and thumping feet
exploring the vast rooms throughout the home
hand in hand in hand in hand,
a continuation of generational love. 

And I cannot wait for the day when blisters form
on our palms from hammering each nail one by one,
until our house becomes a home. 

You, my darling, are my rock.
You make my heart beat and my blood rush.
My lungs expand with your breath of fresh air. 
You make my words come alive –
my muse, my ink, my light. 
You are my home – 
your welcoming arms, 
your sturdy foundation,
and the safest I’ve felt compared to anywhere else –
your rhythmic, passionate, soulful heart. 

Valentine’s day is just around the corner! I don’t try to make a big deal of the holiday, but I enjoy the aspects of celebrating love without the exclusivity for romantic relationships.

I especially love Galentine’s Day which is typically celebrated the day before Valentine’s day, but in general is for women to celebrate other female friendships.

Fun Fact: there is a Chinese holiday called Singles’ Day which is celebrated on November 11th but it’s more of a commercial holiday. Coincidentally, November 11th is also Pocky Day which are long and thin biscuits that is cleverly represented by the date.

I remember Valentine’s Day being such an exciting holiday as a kid because we would hand out little valentine’s with quirky puns, heart-themed candies, and parents throwing parties. Everyone wore pink and red themed clothes and there was an excitement in the air. As the years went on, I admit that I did feel bitter at some points mostly because I was envious of the couples receiving flowers, chocolates, and being showered in love, but when my friends wished me a happy Valentine’s day and teachers handed out sweets, I realized it wasn’t exclusive for couples. I would celebrate my own singleness when I was single by showering my friends with love & telling them how much I admired them and how much they meant to me. When I was doing long distance, I would write letters and cards to my boyfriend and buy myself flowers and cake. We also like ordering food for each other so it felt like we were eating a meal with each other. Lately, I’ve been sending valentine’s to my female friends regardless if they’re single or in a relationship and then spending a day with my boyfriend doing an activity we enjoy whether it’s playing games, doing crafts, or eating our favorite foods. One year, we made summer rolls!

This blog post ended up being a deep dive on Valentine’s Day…

I wrote this poem specifically for my boyfriend because expressing my love for him in many different mediums is my love language. I’ve found that as the years go by, I’ve focused less on giving physical things, but more on experiences because creating memories is priceless. Being in the company of the person I love is always a cherished experience to the point where the simplest of things brings you the most joy. Sometimes my boyfriend and I would just go grocery shopping and have just as much fun as planned days. This poem is basically about my boyfriend’s and I dream to not only have a physical house, but to have a safe space where we can call it our home and raise a family there, but at the end of the day, the foundation of the home starts from us.

Thank you for reading my poem and getting a little glimpse into my boyfriend and I’s love! Please leave a comment, give a like, or sign up with your email to subscribe. Feel free to check out my writing Instagram or support me on my Ko-Fi in the links below.

Rating: 1 out of 5.

Leave a comment