Paint the Dots | Poetry Breakdown

Wheels to rails – a grinding and shaking
as sceneries pass by in a blur
melting all the greens and browns together
in a fluid paint stroke. 

Strangers sharing seats, conversations exchanged
and memories filed away as a positive chance encounter,
like water droplets on separate paths
accidentally merging together. 

Your shoulder on mine, 
connecting all the way to the fingertips. 
As time continues to pass, our minds sync more.
Unbroken bonds manifested in a pulse, a squeeze, a gaze
like a blend of pigments mixing to a new color. 

I absolutely love trains and I wrote this poem on the train. If trains weren’t so expensive and if they were in more areas, I would take them everywhere. I think it’s because it’s like a spacious, less jerky, more rumbly and spacious car. Or maybe it’s because I want to feel like a mysterious book character traveling to a small town in search of an adventure. I even wrote a short story about this!

Last weekend, I took went out of town with my boyfriend since I got invited to go to my oldest friend’s baby shower. We opted to take the train instead of the bus just for the sake of comfort. For some reason, I can read on the train, but I can’t read in busses or cars. My boyfriend didn’t attend the baby shower, but since we already knew the area quite well so we spent the rest of the days relaxing and revisiting our favorite places. It was really refreshing to get away for the weekend and we came back with a better mentality.

I wrote this poem on the train and I wanted to capture these moments. I like writing these types of “observatory” poems because it keeps me grounded. It makes me stop and slow down and appreciate the small things in life that inevitably take up a lot of room in my heart. Small stuff makes the big things go round. And I chose to tie it all together with painting metaphors. When we go to art museums to look at paintings and sculptures, we take our time to observe and take it all in. Art is supposed to make you feel something and it is often a reflection on life. What if it were the opposite? What if we observed life like it were a painting? It may be worth considering if you find yourself feeling overwhelmed frequently.

Was there a moment in life where it made you stop and slow down? What made you change your perspective? Let me know in the comments below! Feel free to check out my writing Instagram and Ko-Fi in the links below – your contribution means a lot and helps me continue this blog! Thank you for reading my poem!

Rating: 1 out of 5.

Check out my other poems:

Leave a comment