Randal | Quick Piece

I found a duck in my toilet today. Usually I’m never at my brightest self in the morning, but I knew that something wasn’t right. I closed my eyes and screamed, hoping that it would go away, that I was still dreaming and that I should’ve eased up on my work. Instead, I heard a dignified quack and gave up on a shower. I sighed and headed back to my room, changed into my running gear and found myself pounding two miles with ease. Yet, with each step I took, the to-do list in my head grew longer and I couldn’t wait to get home.

When I got home, my roommate now cradling the duck, greeted me. “That duck was yours?” I said without thinking. “You know it was sitting in the toilet.” She laughed and shook her head. “Oh, classic Randal. He always likes to get himself into weird places. Wherever there’s water, he’ll be there.” I continued staring at her. The duck quacked at me and I frowned. “Sorry, I forgot to tell you that I got a pet duck. I just wanted to switch things up from a fish or a cat. Anyways, his name is Randal and he’s pretty chill.” she casually said. I always knew she was a strange one, but she always knew how to keep things interesting. I sauntered into my room and heard the soft padding of the duck’s feet following me and quickly slammed the door before it made its way to me. From a distance, I could already hear my roommate calling out to the duck, the duck’s feet softly padding back to her. I stripped down and wrapped a towel around myself and tip toed to the bathroom, glad that Randal wasn’t sitting in the toilet again. As the water ran down my back, I thought about work in a couple hours. Honestly, it’s so dreadful because all I do is make copies for my supervisor and bring him coffees and snacks whenever he wants. Technically I’m supposed to be the assistant, but I feel like I’m just his bitch. I shut off the shower and feel the cool breeze hit my wet skin when I hear a quack. Without peeling back the shower curtains, I screamed for my roommate. “Hey Adelina! Your fucking friend, Randal here is chilling with me in the toilet when all I want is some quiet and private time in the shower!” I squatted in the tub and wrapped my towel around myself, taking time to peek around the corner only to catch the gaze of the damn duck. “What you looking at, punk? You’re going to make me late.” It stared back at me and quacked again and I flipped it off. “Alright alright, I’ll come get my Randal.” my roommate came in and laughed, speaking directly to the duck. “Why do you love the toilet so much? You just love to chill in there, don’t cha?” I gave a sigh of relief once my roommate left with the duck, cradling it in her arms, ignoring the fact that toilet water was dripping down her arms. I dried myself and headed back to my room, got dressed and sat on my bed, savoring every minute before I had to go to work. As I was heading out the door, my roommate was sitting in the living room stroking the duck. She jokingly said, “Maybe you should learn to be like Randal — chill and adventurous.” For some reason, that phrase stuck with me and after I came back from work, I wandered over to the bathroom in hopes of seeing Randal. Instead, I found him sitting in my room, looking as content as ever. Slowly, I approached it and whispered, “Who knows, maybe I could learn a thing or two from you.” In acknowledgement, the duck softly quacked back at me.

One thought on “Randal | Quick Piece

  1. Pingback: Randal | Quick Piece Breakdown | Perpetual Ponderings of Alice Chen

Leave a Reply

