Grocery Run | Quick Piece Breakdown

Hello everyone,

I hope you enjoyed that piece!

Grocery Run

Surprise, surprise. This piece was inspired by my trip to the grocery store and it was pouring. The rain was so sudden and I was also grocery shopping when I was hungry. While I was shopping, I kept on seeing the same people, but I wasn’t intentionally following them. I would be down the toilet paper aisle and I would see that same middle aged woman and then I would be down the meat aisle and see the couple again. Maybe it was because I would hustle around the store, trying to remember if I forgot anything, so I would end up running into the same people.

Basically this story is about someone who somehow finds peace within themselves just by their routine grocery shopping. I wanted it to feel very routine and have the thoughts familiar. This story is full of little snippets of life from the random memory of the green bean to running into the couple who can’t decide on which cereal. Sometimes the wrong people hear your thoughts and you feel like a fool. You may not realize it, but each little moment as tiny as they are can influence how you are throughout the day. In this case, the protagonist eventually lets go of their unnecessary doubts after battling it.

If today was your last day, how would you live it? If you had one more week to live, how would you approach it? If you had six months to live or even five years, would every day be special to you?

Don’t take life for granted.

Thanks for reading,

Alice

Leave a Reply

