A Fragile Soul | Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone!

I hope all is well with you!

A Fragile Soul

Yellow hats with a pineapple
Pink hats with a flamingo
Blue hats with a seashell
Black hats with don’t mess with me etched in neon thread
An expression of my soul.

Athletic pants worn when snacking
Red lipstick traced for a touch of boldness after a breakup
Sweatpants worn as comfort for a final exam
Undies under a sheet, watching a rerun of Friends, just because
An expression of my sorry ass.

“You don’t know my life!” she shouts holding a bowl up high
threatening glass shards exploding everywhere.
Hot tears flow down my face and a small relief mixed with guilt
explode as the bowl kisses the floor —
An expression of pain.

“You’re precious to me.,” he mutters after a long day,
sending flutters racing throughout her body and she holds him tight,
kisses him good-night before drifting into a blissful sleep —
An expression of love.

This poem is about how beautiful humans are and how multidimensional we are. I really love reading and writing poems like this especially when I’m having a harder day because these poems accentuate the simplest beauty of someone without them even having to try very hard.

I start the poem off with a simple description of hats. I’m a big fan of colorful hats with a small mundane (pretty exciting) icon on the front. It’s like a little demonstration of who you are based on the color of the hat and what the icon is, but you can never really tell who someone is based on their hat. From the simple description, I wrote an expression of my soul, something quite heavy to start off the poem.

In the next stanza, I poke fun at some ironic outfits (mostly at myself) and how we really love to get comfortable. Notice the trend? During the summer, I love to write about relaxing when in reality, I relax a bit too much to the point where my mind has melted into pudding. Moderation is key! 🙂 I’m sure most of us has found ourselves in these situations.

In the third stanza, I transition to more personal situations and this one is of anger and an impulsive decision. When I was a teenager, I would clash badly with my parents and have bursts of anger where things end up being broken. It was a bad point in my life, but I’ve risen out of it and now I know how to handle my anger better. In relation with you and the poem, everyone has had a situation similar to mine and while it’s not a pleasant time to reminisce, it has happened and shaped aspects of your life and those affected for better or for worse.

In the final stanza, I delivery my final blow — love. I’ve noticed that romance is something everyone wants to be involved in whether by being in a relationship, watching romance movies, reading romantic works or pampering yourself. It’s a definite necessity and there are two ways you can interpret this stanza.

  1. Cherishing your significant others and the small, loving moments.
  2. Remembering to love yourself, even telling yourself good-night and having a good mind set to try and have a good day.

Every one of us have a different persona, but we’re all beautiful and fragile souls, meant to be treated right and cherished. Love yourself! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Alice

 

4 thoughts on “A Fragile Soul | Poetry Breakdown

  1. Every one of us have a different persona, but we’re all beautiful and fragile souls, meant to be treated right and cherished. Love yourself! 

    Well said and a beautiful piece.

Leave a Reply

