Inherently Bad | Quick Piece Breakdown

Hello everyone,

Inherently Bad

I hope you enjoyed this piece! It’s quite a different one compared to the other pieces I’m used to writing. Nevertheless, it’s a shot at a dark genre. At least, I consider it a darker genre.

I want to address something before I start breaking down because of the terrorist attacks that had happened in England. On May 22nd, a bomb went off at the end of an Ariana Grande concert killing 23 adults and children, injuring 119 others. On June 3rd, a van rammed through pedestrians followed by a stabbing killed at least 7 people and injuring at least 48 others. While my piece may appear to romanticize violence and crime, I am by no means doing so. I don’t believe that violence is ever the answer nor do I believe that discrimination is the answer either. In times like this, it’s best to united for the best interest of humanity and prevent attacks from happening.

And now for the analysis…

This piece was inspired by a passing thought of whether or not people are inherently bad. Are you born knowing how to do bad things or is that built upon you through time and experience? Are you like a ticking time bomb? In this story, I decided to go with yes, people are inherently bad especially those unexpected.

I chose the name, Jolie because it means happiness and while she was able to give the narrator a lot of happiness, she caused him a lot of grief in the end. Suddenly, the narrator felt isolated from the world and didn’t have a need to get out of his own reality as he tried to hold onto what was left of her, his own idea of her. In the story, the narrator never grasp the fact that Jolie committed the crime because he continued to use endearing terms to describe her. While the story is centered around what Jolie had did, it is more about how the narrator reacted to it.

I hope you enjoyed my piece!

Alice

