Once Fought, Now Forgotten | Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone,

I hope you’re doing well.

Once Fought, Now Forgotten

In the cracking dawn of 6am,
my thoughts lay in front of me like
the misty and foggy morning
I stepped into.
Like a mild inconvenience,
it coats my vision and whispers,
“Don’t forget about me. I created you,
so without me, you shall be no more.”

Standing upright, I gasp and sputter for air.
I’m drowning.
It’s too much.
Yet, I stay still.

You cannot do it!
it screams.
You’re not worth it!
it prods.
You failed!
it slaps.
You lost it all!
it kills.

In the falling night of 8pm,
my thoughts are simple and exhausted like
the sigh of the road after a car passes by.
Once fought, now forgotten.
I sink below and into your arms where you whisper,
“Don’t forget about me.”

This poem was influenced by my walk to class this morning. The weather was strange (it had been for a couple days) with misty rain and overcast skies. Then, someone must’ve clicked in my head since I found myself delving deep into thoughts which wasn’t usual for me anymore. Maybe it was the moody weather, maybe it’s because I’m stressed or maybe because I spent a couple minutes creeping on Instagram.

Basically this poem is about how thoughts can make you lose a sense of reality, but it’s only until you find that grasp, it can get really difficult. This poem is one of those relate with me! poems and I hope that it gave you a sense of belonging or understanding. The reasoning for the title is that thoughts are passing, so don’t let it affect you that much, but that doesn’t mean you should give up.

Another point in this poem is the presence of yourself and with other people. Oftentimes when we’re plagued with our thoughts, we don’t really find it necessary to ask for help. “Hey, I’m thinking too much. Can you take them for me?” Yet, most of the time, you’re going to need a second opinion in order to get your clear thinking back again. As human as you are, they also struggle as well, so keep in mind that they might need your help but won’t be vocal. This is empathy.

Well, I hope you learned something and thanks for reading!

Alice

 

5 thoughts on “Once Fought, Now Forgotten | Poetry Breakdown

  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

