The Art of Light | Quick Piece Breakdown

The Art of Light

This story was inspired by one of the mind games I play whenever I’m bored. Mind games are games that you have when you’re bored and they can range from counting ceiling tiles to tracing words with your hands. It varies with each person, but I’m pretty sure everyone has something that they do. Here’s a Buzzfeed video that touches on this subject. My mind game is basically when I imagine streams of light coming out of people’s fingertips whenever they move their hands around when they talk. It sounds very bizarre, but it keeps me from falling asleep in class.

From this, I spun a story about a girl who finds a magical book and becomes very curious about it, so she takes it home with her and starts diving in. In the end, the book isn’t a magic book, but a self-improvement book and she gains confidence in herself. I didn’t intend for this story to become a metaphor because I just wanted to roll with my mind game idea, yet I feel like I would need more time and more planning in order to make this work although I’m pretty happy with the end result. I’ll keep it in mind for a future project.

I made sure to describe the character with plenty of curiosity as well as impatience. While she is willing to learn new things, she isn’t very ready to put in the work and start from the beginning. She is a smart person since she figures things out and is able to make quick connections, but she soon realizes that she needed to put in the work in order to reap the reward. At the end, she is rewarded with contentment instead of instant gratification.

As for the formatting of the piece, you may have noticed that for an 800 word piece, it should have more paragraph breaks. My issue was that I didn’t know where else to break the story. The second paragraph was just filled with what the character did with the book. I guess I could either shorten the second paragraph or write an extra paragraph to extend the story. If you have any tips about paragraph breaks, then feel free to let me know!

Anyways, thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed it!

Alice

Leave a Reply

