Time Manipulation | Poetry Breakdown

Hello again!

Time Manipulation

In the dead of night, you find your thoughts living life
more than you ever desired.
It becomes so vivid and tempting
that you reach out your hand and try to
form it yourself, but it just slips through your hand.

In the midst of class, you find your motions
echoing how many minuets are left of the eighty minuets.
It feels like a lifetime, but it will always remain a snippet.
No danger has ever scratched the surface of your ticking life
except the seemingly lost information – in through one ear and out another.

In the fluid motion of being near you,
my steps seem to echo through the empty streets
and our laughter illuminates the street lights.
Yet, I find myself trailing behind –
afraid of being sucked in and losing my life
even though time is moving
just as it feels.

First of all, I’m sorry for no poem last week. It was my birthday! 🙂 Also, if you’ve seen my last post, then I’ve mentioned that I’ll start to queue my posts rather than writing them the day they’re scheduled because of my crazy schedule. Keep my accountable!

Now, this poem is shorter than my previous poems. I’ve noticed that with repetitive phrases, after three, it will stop making an impact. I’m pretty satisfied with the three stanzas and they communicate the meaning of the poem well.

The first stanza is about dreams. Have you ever had a dream that was so good that you just wanted to keep sleeping and continue it, but once you realized that you were dreaming, you start to wake up? This is basically what it’s about – the frustration of your dreams being better than reality. With time as the theme, time is going against the narrator. The second stanza is about being in class (yes, I’m writing another blog post in class again). Often times, you’ll be in class and you feel like time is dragging like hours has gone by but it’s only a small portion of your life. You’re just not at your best interest to be at complete focus even though what you’ve learned will be later retained, but time isn’t on the narrator’s side again – it feels slow.

The final situation is about an impactful interpersonal relationship and how time seems to stop because I don’t name any evidence of other people being with them. It’s a pleasant moment, but instead of time being the barrier, it’s the narrator being fearful of getting too close. Now, it’s up to you to interpret the situation in the final paragraph and it does relate with me (as all my other writing does) but that’s all I’ll say. 😉

Anyways, thanks for reading!

Alice

Leave a Reply

