Dream Big | Quick Piece

Yesterday, I went to a university for a field trip! I remember going to the zoo when I was in second grade and I liked seeing the monkeys climb everywhere, but going to the university is even better. I had never been to a university before, even saying university made me feel smart and I only saw this university from the outside, but today we get to go inside. With the big buildings and tons of students, I think it’s the best place on Earth. “Wow! That person is riding a skateboard! Look! I see the science building!” I shouted as we started the tour. Mrs. Blevins gently took me aside and told me to not shout. I didn’t get it because we were outside, but I tried my best to keep it to myself. I was too excited, so I whispered everything to myself. Our tour guide was nice and told us about each building and they were so old and cool looking! She talked about majors, which I think is what your job will be after you’re finished with school. When we walked into a science building, we went into a large room. They turned off all the lights and then we saw a bunch of stars on the ceiling even though it was still daytime! From then on, I knew that I wanted to have a job with the stars because they looked so cool and the university teacher said that stars could turn different colors based on how hot it gets! I wanted to stay in that big room forever, but it was time for lunch. I can’t believe that when you’re in college, you get to have as much food as you want! One of my friends, Jimmy, got a plate full of cookies and Mrs. Blevins just smiled and said “Jimmy, go get some fruit. I don’t think your mom will like it if I let you eat that many sweets.” Jimmy wasn’t happy, but he went and got an apple. I got a bunch of pizza and sat next to Blake. Blake had a bunch of French fries and an orange. He stuck two fries in his mouth and said, “Hey look! I’m a walrus.” Jimmy and Blake laughed, but I was getting angry. “You guys are so immature! That’s not how college students act.” I said before using my fork and stabbing some broccoli. I didn’t like broccoli especially when my mom made it, but I’m probably going to have to eat it when I go to college. Jimmy and Blake looked at me. “We’re not college students, Rhett. We’re just visiting and I thought you didn’t like broccoli.” Blake said. I sighed and swallowed my broccoli. “Well, how do you think the college will think of us if they see you with French fry teeth?” I said before stabbing another broccoli. Blake and Jimmy stared at their plates for a while, deciding whether or not they wanted to be worthy of the college students. Jimmy piped up and said, “I don’t want to be a college student yet. I’m only eight years old.” Blake nodded and I sighed. I guess I was the only one. I finished my plate of broccoli while Jimmy and Blake fought with their French fries. How could college students eat so much broccoli? It doesn’t even taste good! After lunch, it was time to go back to school. I was sad to leave, but I knew that I wanted to go here for college and have a major with stars. While my class was walking to the bus, a college girl saw the class and took out her phone and started taking pictures. I think she was trying to be sneaky, but I saw her do it. When she passed by me, she saw me looking at her and I was going to tell her that I saw her taking pictures, but she just patted me on the shoulder and said, “Dream big, kid. I believe you can do it.” She smiled and walked away. Jimmy turned and saw me smiling and said, “Why are you so happy? I thought you would be sad because we’re leaving.” I shook my head and said, “I am sad, but that girl just told me to dream big and that’s what I’m going to do!” It was kind of weird; I felt happy and sad at the same time. For the entire bus ride, Blake and Jimmy made fun of me saying that I was in love with the girl, but I didn’t care because I was dreaming big.

One thought on “Dream Big | Quick Piece

  1. Pingback: Dream Big | Quick Piece Breakdown | Perpetual Ponderings of Alice Chen

Leave a Reply

