A Quiver in Reality | Quick Piece

I looked up from where I was walking and noticed that something was off. I had everything I needed, my backpack, my shoes and my hat. People were going to class as usual and because it was Halloween weekend, there were a couple people wearing their costumes to class. I saw Woody Allen get out of his car and a couple blocks later, I saw Grim Reaper casually walk to class, with his robe dragging in front of his sneakers. Yet, I still couldn’t pinpoint what was wrong. I looked in the sky and saw the clouds hovering lower than usual, the grey carrying the weight of a rainstorm. I ignored my intuition and walked a little faster to class; I only had ten minutes to spare. As I made my way through campus, I couldn’t help but laugh to myself as I saw another student ditching the idea of being a character, but instead, they donned a bathrobe. It was as if they wanted to appear as their true selves for today, an identity of true comfort. I made it to class on time and sat in the back of the lecture hall as my professor talked about how we should address ethics as I jotted my thoughts in my notebook, smudging the ink down the right side of my hand. Fifty-five minutes later, the professor ended the lecture by charging us to do the right thing and I slipped my notebook into my backpack, put in my ear buds and started walking back to my apartment. I took a deep breath of the clear air, grateful to finally be finished with class for the week when I noticed a strange breeze pass in front of me, yet the trees remained still and a bicyclist didn’t just swerve in front of me. The campus was calm and just as it should be and suddenly, I felt like I was wearing a large hat and everyone could see my frantic revelation in the atmosphere. It felt like the weight of the atmosphere suddenly dropped on me, but only I could notice it. It felt like I was submerged in the ocean, quietly drowning but no one could save me from my demise. It felt like a slight quiver in reality, so small that it didn’t cause any damage. I paused my music and waited if it would happen again, but the air stayed still so I moved forward. When I unlocked the door to my apartment and when I was able to breathe in the scent of my own comfort, did the little disturbance escape my mind. It was just a simple day in my life and I moved forward.

2 thoughts on “A Quiver in Reality | Quick Piece

  1. Pingback: A Quiver in Reality | Quick Piece Breakdown | Perpetual Ponderings of Alice Chen

  2. I have integrated some of my favorite classic St. Patrick’s Day recipes, which you can choose from,
    to host your own standard Irish meal and it really is not Corned Beef
    and Cabbage.

Leave a Reply

