Moonlight Sonata | Quick Piece Breakdown

Hello everyone!

I hope you had a great time with your family and friends!

Moonlight Sonata

Even though this piece was really short compared to my other short stories, it was difficult. I believe I’ve mentioned this before in another breakdown post, but I’ll discuss it again. Pieces that are emotionally driven and are full of imagery are difficult for me not because I don’t know how to write it, but I want to write it so that it fully captures the moment and that the moment isn’t completely transparent, so there’s a bit of definition in the story. Pieces that are more “story-like”, are difficult because to be honest, writing fully structured stories with a plot aren’t very comfortable for me because there are so many elements that need to fall into place. Although, that can be easily solved with more practice. 🙂 I need to work on a way that combines my imagery and emotional pieces with my stories and I think I managed to do it with some stories, but I know that not all of them are like that.

Basically, in Moonlight Sonata, it’s a piece about the narrator experiencing insomnia and after they look outside the window, they find peace in the beauty outside and the moon and are able to rest. This actually happened to me. I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I experience insomnia and it sucks but sometimes I get to experience very interesting things. I really wanted to take a picture of what I saw, but it was too dim for my camera to process, so I made note of it and I decided to write about it today. In the piece, I also wanted to make it clear through my story that everyone is important and when I mentioned anonymity, it doesn’t really mean blending in and being forgotten, I intended it carry a positive connotation of accepting yourself.

Thanks for reading!

Stay warm,

Alice

Leave a Reply

