Reflective Space & Carpus | Quick Piece Breakdown

Reflective Space

Carpus

Sorry that it didn’t come in a week. Time caught up with me and it was already the following week. Instead, I’ve attached two breakdowns for the two pieces I’ve written.

Reflective Space

This story was written directed to people who struggle with their body image because I was feeling quite frustrated with myself. (There’s another response to that that you’ll read on Thursday 😉 ) Basically, this story is about a women named Briana who sees other people and kind of envies them. She doesn’t really see herself for who she is. She puts on the “businesswoman” persona as well as the “jogger” persona. She’s even tried to diet, but ended up unhappy.

One key thing about this story is the mirror. Briana didn’t like how she looked in the mirror so much that she covered it up with something she rather look at which is really sad. The only thing she can see is her face. After going through the personas, she realizes that she can’t really be something else besides herself. She starts taking off the landscapes and sees herself fully. By taking off what see wants to see, Briana is now faced with the truth, but she’s okay with it this time.

In this story, I never really identify a specific issue, but I still write it with enough descriptions about other things rather than herself. That way, she would be more relatable. I understand that men also have body image issues, but I wrote the narrative in a female voice because I’m more comfortable writing women because I know how to write it better.

The title, Reflective Space, indicates the mirror doesn’t only have to be a place of criticism as people with body image issues struggle with. We dread the mirror, but we can’t stop critiquing ourselves. I didn’t use “Mirror” as the title, because I wanted the mirror to be taken differently.

For anyone who’s struggling with loving your body, know that you’re not alone. Please realize that you are your worst critic and pay no attention to those demeaning thoughts. Instead, treat yourself to something because you deserve it. Make yourself truly smile because that’s the true beauty, finding joy in life. Don’t give up! You are loved.

Carpus

I found the inspiration for this story on Tumblr.

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 10.59.59 AM

I thought that was really interesting, so I spun a story around this prompt. I really loved the idea of taking something so simple and making it different and complex. It became really difficult to make sure things made sense and the small world I made up with its little details, made sense. I don’t normally write science-fiction, so I had to make sure I didn’t go overboard on the details and forget about the plot. Let me know what you think!

Basically, this story is about a town/world called Abington and it’s normal for everyone to have tattoos of names on their wrists. (The title means wrist in Latin) One is their soul mate and the other is their enemy, but they don’t know which one is which. When they find their soul mate or enemy, the tattoo fades to a grey. The main character doesn’t like the idea of having to find people she was destined for, so she isolates herself. Meanwhile, her sister, Jenni, quickly catches on and finds her soul mate. The story starts off with a good sisterly relationship, but at the end, their family is broken.

I didn’t really write in a theme because I was busy focusing on properly incorporating the above prompt. There’s a slight theme of belonging and family specifically among sisters. At the end of the story, I leave it hanging, but the story doesn’t end there! This is actually a two part story and I deliberately did this because I had already spent two straight hours writing this already lengthy story. I wanted to keep it as authentic and cautiously pieced together as Carpus. The second part’s title will be: Maryrose and Lucius, so stay tuned!

Thanks for reading the stories!

Stay tuned for an upcoming poetry breakdown!

Alice

Leave a Reply

