Two Years | Blog Birthday

Hello everyone!

It was the blog’s second birthday yesterday!

birthday-cake-380178_640

What an incredible journey this has been and thank you for coming along with me! I’ve spoken at a English conference, gotten published in my school’s literature magazine and most of all, written so much!

This year, I’ve…

published 24 short stories.

published 17 poems.

And among balancing school and this blog, I must say, this is a pretty good feat! Also, I didn’t count the Quick Piece Breakdowns! As many of you know, summer is my high season for the blog, so stay tuned for more regularly scheduled posts!

It took me a while to realize this, but you don’t need a degree to be a writer. You just need to write in order to be a writer and you’ve got to enjoy it because how else would you call yourself something if you don’t enjoy it? Any advice that I would give to writers would be the same as any other published author would say: keep writing. You have the ability to define yourself whichever way you want and you don’t need anyone to tell you otherwise. You don’t need to prove yourself to anyone, just yourself. Therefore, I’m proud to call  myself a writer. I’m not the greatest writer and I definitely have a lot of things to work on, but that doesn’t stop me from continuing to practice this art. If I can incorporate it into my career, then that would be great! If I can’t be a full-time writer or a freelance writer, then it’s no big deal. I’m still a writer and I’ll definitely find time to continue writing even if it ends up not being published.

Just keep writing!

Here’s to more years of writing!

Alice Chen

One Year

First Post

One thought on “Two Years | Blog Birthday

  1. Pingback: Three Years | Blog Birthday | Perpetual Ponderings of Alice Chen

Leave a Reply

