Calculus | Quick Piece Breakdown

Calculus

This piece was a different one with the anger, cursing and unhappy ending. Nevertheless, I think it was a good one and I wrote it mostly to work on a different emotion and story line. I also wrote it on two occasions, both in a lab waiting on my friend.

This story follows Evan around who is an engineering student stuck inside doing homework while his roommate, Keenan is outside playing frisbee. Evan contemplates the meaning of his homework and after a while, his roommate comes back outside and starts talking about a girl who he met while playing frisbee. It turns out that Evan was also interested in that girl, Marcie but he never vocalized it. Evan lashes out and they get into a fight that ends up with both of them in tears.

First of all, I didn’t realize that I already used the name, Evan before in one of my stories. Maybe they’re the same person following the same timeline. Maybe they’re probably different people. Anyways, this just shows you how I pick names for my characters now. I just use whatever name that comes up to my mind as long as the name doesn’t belong to a friend of mine. If I can’t think of anything, then I use a random name generator. I try not to pay too much attention to the meaning of the name because most of the time, the character makes the name and not vice versa.

Secondly, I wanted the reader to really think on multiple levels about judgement, friendship, loneliness and obsession. Also, there’s the question of whether Evan did the right thing, Keenan doing the right thing or either of them not doing the right thing? Who would you side with? Despite the story being initially straight forward, there can be many interpretations.

I hope you enjoyed this piece!

Alice

Leave a Reply

