For Now | Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone,

I’m back again, writing poems. I’m a little rusty with my poetry because in my writing classes, we’ve mainly been focusing on lyrical essays and flash non-fiction. But hey, I figured I would get back to the swing of things – my first writing form: the poem.

“For Now”

Once I was sitting on a park bench,
my mind flooded with
shopping lists
whether I have enough money
a growing hunger
homework I have to do
and if I have time.
A breeze rustles through the leaves
brushing my face
and touching my fingers
like a stray thought.
The golden leaves twinkle
and glisten in the radiant sun
contrasting the oceanic sky.
My mind settles
and all I can think of
is how glad I am able to be sitting on a park bench
under a canopy of fiery gold
without a worry –
just for now.

We’re in the middle of fall right now and if it’s not raining, then it’s a beautiful day with the radiant sun, green grass, cool breeze and blue skies. Everything is so picturesque, but they’re also kind of rare as we’re also in a rainy season. The rain pours heavily and the skies become very menacing and grey. Since my university is very hilly, the rain flows down making sure that everyone’s shoes stay wet. I need to get some wellies.

This poem is focusing on the beautiful side of things and as all of you may know from my absence, I’ve been very busy. Most of my days consist of me leaving my apartment at 9 in the morning and not getting back until 12 hours later. When I get home, I don’t have the energy to write or even do homework. I try to do as much as I can before starting a new day with adequate sleep. Yet, there are times in which I get a break. Even though my breaks can be between 1 hour and 3 hours, it’s nice to just sit outside if the weather permits. Just taking everything in and having things slow down makes you really appreciate everything you have at the moment, causing you to run around like a madman.

Essentially, make sure you take time to appreciate the beautiful world. Hey, rain can be soothing and cozy too. It’s what you make of situations and in times when I’m feeling especially overwhelmed, I try to look at things in a lighter and brighter perspective. Even if it’s for that moment, you still have that moment to calm down and really take time for yourself. Appreciate what you’ve been given and keep moving forwards.

I hope you have a lovely day!

Alice

Leave a Reply

