Pause | Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone,

Long time no see! I’m at school now and it’s nice being back although finances are stressing me out and I’ve been doing a lot of un-fun things. I feel responsible, but I know I’m not ready for it. Anyways, here’s a poem called “Pause”.

If you had a chance
to redo your life
whether it be one hour
or one day,
would you cease the opportunity?
If you had a chance to say a last good bye
or say I love you one last time,
would you muster up everything you got
just to say it?
If you had a chance
to make things better
even though tears will fall and fists will tremble,
would you still do it?

Whatever the moment,
whether it be painful
or lost,
cease it
or else the moment will be lost
since time cannot be stopped.

Ever since I’ve gone back to school, I felt like time was going so fast probably because I was doing so many things. It’s a good thing because it means I’m enjoying it, but it’s also overwhelming since it’s hard to do things right if you understand what I mean. It’s the factor of taking the time and making the most of it. Basically this poem is to not have many regrets, but to just take the chances. 

We all have moments where we wished that there was a device to turn back time. We all have the moments where we wished we said something instead of staying silent whether it be because it would be our last moment or it would potentially have a lasting impact. At the end of each “if” question, I ask something around the lines of “would you take the chance?”

The second paragraph, the one with the most impact, I write that you should take the opportunity even if initially, it is painful because you won’t get the moment back again. Think about it. If we did make a product that has the ability to stop time, would that alter how you do things? Would you save it up or would you never do things right because you know you have an automatic redo? With all these questions, it would cause you to think about how much you value your life based on how much time you spend. Maybe you don’t want to do that job that you really hate and start perusing something you love. Maybe you’re going to tell someone you like them. Whatever it is, don’t be afraid and just do it.

I hope you have a great day and I’ll see you on Saturday.

Alice

Leave a Reply

