Breathe | Quick Piece

He started pacing up and down the hallway. I sat on the stairwell, patiently waiting; I fiddled with my hands and tried to only listen to the rhythmic sounds of his steps. When he passed me, he gave me a sad look full of depth. I closed my eyes and threw myself back to when we looked forward to each day since the future was bright. Right now, there were only clashes of dissonance with a large, deceptive cloud in front of us. It drove me insane. I put my head between my knees and groaned. He stopped in his tracks and looked up at me. He said nothing, but slowly started walking towards me. I looked up at him and wondered if he knew what I was feeling. He sat down next to me and I could practically feel him breathing. I stopped breathing. He looked up at me with caution and whispered, “I thought we were going to try to make this better.” I didn’t meet his gaze and I became even more fixated on a spot on the floor. I saw two people huddled together, but on a closer glimpse, the girl looked extremely pained. I sympathize with her. He nudged me slightly and I finally took a deep breath. “So many things have gone wrong and I don’t even know what it’s become of now.” He shifted his weight and sighed. “I don’t know what to say, but the least I can do is say that I’m sorry.” I quickly leaped to my feet and said louder, “ Do you know the extent of the pain you’ve caused me? Can you try to understand?” He held out his hands in front of him as if he were afraid that I was going to attack him. I sat back down and said to the ground, “I’m afraid to loose you, but…I think I already have.” Even though he was in front of me, I could feel him stop breathing. He rapidly started pacing again and I buried my head between my knees. Down the hall, I heard him say with anguish, “Damn it! What have I done?” I peered down the hall and saw him crouch down. Intense sorrow filled me and a small voice in my head whispered, there’s still one more chance. I got up from the step and walked toward him. When I reached him, he continued muttering. I crouched down and embraced him tightly.

3 thoughts on “Breathe | Quick Piece

  1. Pingback: Breathe | Quick Piece Breakdown | Perpetual Ponderings of Alice Chen

Leave a Reply

