Calm | Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone,

I hope your week has been well. In a week and a half, I’ll be going back to school. I’ve mentioned this before, but I can’t wait! I’m taking a lot of interesting English classes with hopes to boost up my GPA so I can transfer between colleges in my university. Everything’s a work in progress, but I’m getting there.

“Calm”

I’m stuck.
I’m trapped.
All I want to do is break hearts and cut friendships
Stay away
Stay away from me!
I don’t want you to be victim of my anguish.
Why?
I’m still here and I’m seething.
I can see through everything and nothing goes past me.
Stay away!
Don’t come near!
I don’t want you to be hurt because of me.
That would be too much for me to handle.

Take my hand.
It’s okay.
I will be with you, so don’t let go.
I don’t understand the reason to your anguish
but I want to try to soothe it.
I don’t understand why someone like you has to go through this, but
I will be with you.
I want to help you
and I won’t leave.
We will fight this together.

This poem carries two emotions – anger and comfort. Both can be exhibited through one person, but it can also be interpreted as each stanza are two different people.

In the first stanza, the person is obviously in a lot of pain, but they don’t want to put any burden on anyone hence the lines Stay away! The person’s anger seems to be uncontrollable since they are warning others to not bother with them. It’s hurting them and if someone tries to help then they think that it would help them even more.

As for the second stanza, a gentler and more persistent voice comes to help. In fact, I think that this other side or other person is more persistent than anger because anger wants all the help and is cautious, but will give in to help. As for comfort, they will do anything to help that person. They don’t understand it because it’s not their own, but they still want to help and they recognize that this anger is beyond that person. Therefore, they are doing everything they can to help them fight it off.

The poem’s title is calm because the person with anger wants to be calm and comfort is helping them to be calm. Overall, calm is to represent the goal of both stanzas.

To me, the second stanza is what I want to hear when I go through any sort of mental attack whether it be episodes of depression, an anxiety attack or just when I’m angry. I need someone to listen to me and to just be with me because I understand that what I’m going through is pretty difficult to comprehend. The first stanza is what goes through my head along with many other emotions.

To those who feel ashamed asking for help: Don’t

Thanks for reading this week’s Poetry Breakdown!

Alice

Leave a Reply

