Hershey | August 15, 2015

Hello everyone,

This weekend, I went to Hershey, Pennsylvania with my family for a mini family vacation! We didn’t go to the park, but we toured the museums and went through the Chocolate World. The scent of vanilla followed us wherever we went as well as the prospect of getting chocolate. When I heard of Hershey Park, I envisioned the entire place covered with chocolate like Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory. Hershey wasn’t quite like that, but it was still pretty good. I really enjoyed the free tour at the Chocolate World that featured singing cows. The tour itself made me feel like a cocoa bean and the journey made me feel very special that I made other people happy. There was an instance in Chocolate World when my brother and I wanted to smush a penny with an imprint of the Hershey characters, but we didn’t have a penny. My brother bravely asked a cashier if she could give him a worthless penny, but apparently it does have worth. We scoured the grounds in case it slipped out of someone’s hands. We relied on the fact that the penny wasn’t important to someone because it was important to us. My brother and I probably spent 45 minutes looking for the last piece. We finally found a penny on the mulch, a couple feet away from where people usually throw their coins into a pool. The effort was worth the ¢51 souvenir and I’ll remember the hard work we went through in order to get that smushed penny.

Today, we went to the Sights and Sounds Theater to see Joseph. It was an incredible production with lights, costume design and set playing a very important role. As their slogan says, the Bible really did come to life. I knew this story because I’ve heard it many times, but to see it in front of me was another experience. It told me how really it all was and it wasn’t just a story or a production. At the end of the show, one of the characters said something along the lines of, “The God who did all this is still alive!” That’s one of the most hopeful statements ever because the God who blessed Joseph is here among us to guide and lead us with our lives. It not only gave me a reality check, but a reassuring kick that I really needed. Our God’s not dead, He’s surely alive!

That’s all for today, see you soon!

Alice

Leave a Reply

