Reflected Mirror | Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone,

I hope your day has been well. I can’t believe that it’s almost August which means that I’ll be going back to school soon. A year ago, I dreaded going back to school. Now, I can’t wait to go back to school. I’ve reiterated this so many times before, but so many things have happened this past year. I can’t wait to see what the next year brings.

“Reflected Outline”

I’m just an outline of my imperfections.
There are deep shadows covering my neck
and an eternal gaze that speaks unkindly of sadness.
My lips can hear your complaints and they reflect it
back to your filtering ears.
My hair drapes down the side of my face
without movement and energy.
Mirror

My brilliant smile is complimented by a sharp jawline
and framed with curious cheekbones.
There’s a swish from the corner of my eyes
as they match my joyfulness.
My hair enthusiastically flows and flies like
there’s a perpetual breeze swirling around.
My eyes lightly glow as I crinkle with laughter.
Reflection

This poem is similar to the poem, “Light” such that “Light” had two stanzas that were opposing each other as well as imagery with the body. Yet, I personally prefer this poem because it has more depth and a better ending message.

In the first stanza, it’s about a silhouette and how I’m behind the light. It’s dreary and dull. There’s no energy and it’s strange as well. There’s some abstract lines in the first stanza such that lips cannot hear, but that line is written to signify disorder. Overall this person is uncertain with their body. It ends with mirror because I feel like some of us may resent the mirror because of how we think it represents our body when it’s just a piece of glass that has the ability to reflect light.

In the second stanza, it’s clearer and there’s more appreciation for themselves. The stanza feels lighter and brighter. It’s self-explanatory that this stanza would be preferred by everyone because it’s easier to understand and what we desire. It ends with reflection because it’s a better representation of who we want to be because it has more vitality. In reality, mirror and reflection are the same thing. How come we feel more threatened by the mirror than how we represent ourselves? It may the opposite for you.

Growing up, I’ve had difficulty loving myself. I never felt like myself and that this is what I would end up looking like. After a few years of insecurity, I somehow grown to love myself. Everything fit together nicely and I was satisfied with the way I looked. Of course I had those wavering thoughts of “what if” and “how come”, but I pushed them aside. I had thoughts about my choice in clothing, but I had a policy of remaining comfortable and I wouldn’t mind my appearance. I had practically disregarded it. Now, I’m feeling insecure about my body again because I have to look for a job soon and there’s going to be a new realm of judgement and I most certainly cannot disregard my appearance. In the second stanza of my poem, I write about the features I’m happy with such as my cheekbones and my smile. I also enjoy my brown eyes because they have a certain glow to them.

I like telling myself that I’m still a work in progress and that keeps me going.

Thank you for reading this week’s PB!

Alice

Leave a Reply

