Timid | Poetry Breakdown

Hello again!

I hope you’re enjoying your second day of July! Then again, I can’t quite believe that it’s July already.  This month is usually busy for me since I have some church activities to tend to. Nevertheless, I’ll try my best to keep up with the posting schedule.

“Timid”

Like mice,
her words scuttle around
in place of a home and proper nourishment

Like a rabbit,
she has no voice
till she is threatened
and boy, does she surprise

Wide eyes and trembling hands
Low voice and soft steps
Uncertainty and insecurity;
She is timid
and perhaps you just have to lean in closer
to hear her as she hears you

My friend had prompted me with the word, “timid” and the first thing that came to my mind was myself, so I dedicated the poem to describing all aspects of being timid. This poem isn’t necessarily about me since it could also cover other people who are timid as well.

To me, I see mice as timid since they always run away when you approach them. When someone who is timid speaks, they speak softy and quietly hoping that someone would hear them because they aren’t comfortable in speaking out loud.

In the next paragraph, I move onto the rabbit which I think is also a timid animal unless it’s under attack or in a compromised position. It’s not that people who are timid have no voice because when they speak, people act like it’s a big surprise and that their voice was a big mystery.

For me, one of the bigger reason I don’t speak as much is because people don’t usually listen and understand me. Another reason would simply be that I don’t have anything to add to the conversation and I would just listen to everyone’s input. There are times when it’s appreciated that someone would take the same amount of effort to listen to someone who doesn’t usually talk just like that person constantly listens to the conversation.

This poem is pretty self explanatory since there isn’t that much back story. This version of the poem is different than the one published on my deviantart because a kind deviant helped my poem’s structure and wording out. Thank you!

I hope you enjoyed this week’s Poetry Breakdown!

Alice

Leave a Reply

