Wrinkles | Quick Piece

I saw my granddaughter sneaking around the corner of the house and I smiled at her. “Grandma! What are you doing?” she asked, while climbing onto my lap. I set my book down and pulled her close. “Well, dear. I was reading a great book with a great story, but I’m going to tell you a story of my own.” I said. What was I going to tell her? I had already told her about all my adventures. I looked into her deep brown eyes and sighed. “Grandma, are you sad? My friend told me that when people sigh, they’re sad.” she asked with deep concern. I patted her on the head and said, “My dear, yes, sighs can mean that, but it also means that I’m full of thoughts and I need to empty them out sometimes.” She cuddled up to me and said, “Okay, grandma. I’m ready for that story now.” I looked up at my wrinkly hands holding her and then I rested my gaze on her sweet face. This story must be told.

“There are times in your life when you wonder why. You wonder why you’re doing something or why you’re even living. There are plenty of times in your life when you’re so happy and you just know that everything will surely be okay. Yet, for some reason, we also focus on the times that hurt us rather than the times that are full of happiness and joy. My dear, there have been times when I cried by myself. There have been times when I’ve fallen and no one was there to help me up. My dear, there have been times when I was so angry with everything, but there was no one there to yell at to change them.” I start off with a gentle whisper and I find myself shaking with energy. I look down at her and she smiles up at me. “This is a new story, grandma, but I like it.” I smile weakly at her and continued.

“There have been times when I’ve been left in the dark and then thrown into the light that’s too bright for me. My dear, things aren’t going to be easy, but as you can see, I am old and weathered. I’ve survived and not only did I survive, I lived.” I finished with a smile. She patted my hand and gently said, “Grandma, I’ve always thought you were so strong. That’s where you got the wrinkles from, right?” I smile and tried my best to hold back my tears. Children always have so much innocent wisdom. I sigh deeply and close my eyes. I stayed like this for a while until she nudges me and whispered, “You must have a lot of thoughts. I don’t want to breath them all in!” I laughed and sniffled loudly, “I’m going to inhale all of your thoughts!” We spent the rest of the night trying to breathe in each other’s thoughts until she was too tired to move. I had my husband pick her up and put her to bed and in that time alone; I smiled to myself and looked down at my hands. Yes, they may be wrinkly, but they’re because I endured and lived. I’m full of thoughts, but tonight, I released all my pain of life. I picked my book up again and continued reading, but with a new light.

One thought on “Wrinkles | Quick Piece

  1. Pingback: Quick Piece Breakdown | June 4, 2015 | Perpetual Ponderings of Alice Chen

Leave a Reply

