Tall and Strong | Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone,

I hope you’re doing well. As for me, finals are coming and I’m starting to get a little stressed out. It’s also snowing right now despite it being the middle of April. I think these past two weeks, we’ve gone through all the seasons from the classic April rain to brilliant sunshine. Besides the crazy weather and stress, I go home in 11 days! I can’t wait to relax at home, yet at the same time I will also miss the friends I made at school.

 

Tall and Strong

We’re so used to seeing each other

standing tall and strong

That we sometimes forget

that we may be holding ourselves together

just for each other

or that when we go home

we crumple down.

We see each other

so brave and unafraid

we will ourselves to be

just like each other so that

when we are alone and power is drained from us,

we remember that we are

capable of doing great things.

We are the same person.

One day we are a hero

and the next day we are the bystander.

Yet, every day we have the capacity

in showing our true powers

even through simply standing tall and strong.

I look at myself and I am only one person.

Yet with one comes twenty

and with twenty comes strength

Stand strong.

Don’t be afraid.

even if your voice quivers.

Stand tall

for others see

because you are capable.

I wrote this poem with my friends in mind. We all go through tough times and some of my friends also suffer from anxiety, depression or panic attacks which really breaks my heart. I remember talking to one of my friends and telling him that I had panic attacks and he casually said that he also suffers from it. Then he said that we’re just really good at hiding it. With that in mind, I wrote this poem.

Basically, this poem talks about how we all appear stronger and happier when we see each other, but when we go home, we just let go. For me to be aware that someone also suffers from a mental disorder, but stays strong even if it’s just in front of friends and family, I find it very empowering because I know that it’s not easy to do so at times. If someone can be strong in front of their family and friends, then eventually they could be strong in front of themselves.

The sentence, “We see each other so brave and unafraid, we will ourselves to be just like each other so that when we are alone and power is drained from us, we remember that we are capable of doing great things.” This sentence really is the heart of the poem. It’s okay to feel sad, but don’t feel burdened by it. Try to focus more on the times when you were happy. Also, don’t be too harsh on yourself.

‘Yet with one comes twenty and with twenty comes strength.” What I mean with this statement is that we aren’t alone in our difficulties. Even if someone next to you doesn’t really know how you feel, they can still help you. You aren’t left alone in your troubles because there’s always someone out there who wants to help you. It’s okay to ask for help. Asking for help doesn’t make you look weak. You are brave to ask for help.

I wrote this poem to empower people who feel like they’re kind of stuck. Feeling empowered is probably one of the greatest feeling in the world when adrenaline rushes through you and you simply feel like you’re undefeated. Those feelings are quite rare and we should cherish or seek after loving yourself and feeling fearless more. The times when you feel defeated, remember that you are the same person who helped someone out or aced a test or even rode a roller coaster before. You did those great things and of course they aren’t put to waste.

You are loved and you have amazing friends. You were and are capable of a so much things. Don’t give up now! You can do it! I believe in you! 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this week’s Poetry Breakdown.

Have a great week!

Alice

Leave a Reply

