Regret|Poetry Breakdown

Hello everyone!
Happy Spring and I know it’s spring because it already rained for two days here. Then, it would get chilly and windy. The onset of spring always seems to be pretty unstable, but sooner than later, there will be more warm days than cold days.

This poem is called, “Regret”.
I have become empty with fear
for I have never attempted to live.
I regret never sipping on a cold lemonade
while watching the red summer sunset slip
behind the rolling green hills.
I regret never feeling the first snow brush
against my rough skin and feeling my breath catch.
I regret never spending my paycheck
on snacks and things I absolutely need.
I regret never spending an entire rainy day
watching movies off Netflix only to
finish it off with videos on YouTube.
I regret never falling heavily in love with
that stranger across the street or with
my long time childhood friend only to have
it pain me both ways.
I regret never standing up and shouting so that
my voice echoed and silence followed because
everyone was so shaken and surprised.
I regret staying sitting down and letting time
become a blur around me until
I become numb with feeling.

According to the dictionary, regret means “to feel sad or sorry about (something that you did or did not do) : to have regrets about (something)” Maybe you have something that you really regret and in moments like that, you wished you had a time machine to fix things up. When I was younger, I would do embarrassing things mainly because I was awkward. Most of my embarrassing moments would consist of me saying something completely random because I couldn’t formulate something better to say.

In this poem, I’m cautioning readers to take risks and do things instead of wasting time because not doing something also seems to be one of the bigger regrets. For instance, the moments I stumbled over my words and in those moments, I regret not saying anything when later, I was glad that I was able to actually say something. Everyone’s “regret story” may be different, but the main idea is to just to not be so caught up in not living a life full of regrets so that you forget to live at all.

J.K Rowling said a similar quote, but she talked about failure. “It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might has well not have lived at all, in which case you have failed by default.” At the end of the day, you can look back and laugh about the embarrassing or regretful moments because it had already been past instead of not being done at all. It’s true that with every thing you do comes a consequence, but there is also the consequence of not even living at all.

So, enjoy your life and live it!

I hope you all have a great week!

 

Alice

Leave a Reply

