Superhero|Poetry Breakdown

Lo and behold! It’s this time again. I present to you a more upbeat poem, at least more upbeat than my other two have been.

Superhero

Some heroes come with capes
billowing in pride and glory.
Some heroes come with masks
to hide the inferiority of the common person.
Some heroes come with sidekicks
who act as another set of hands
because heroes need help as well
since they’re just the same
as you are.
A hero can stand tall without a uniform
even though they are the only one.
A hero isn’t afraid of what is to come
even though they may be trembling on the inside.
A hero is also a league of heroes
when their friends stand as well.
You don’t have to be super to be a hero.
You just only have to be yourself.

This poem is my definition of a hero. I believe that anyone can be a hero and if one doesn’t think they are, then they have the potential to become a hero.

From people like Nelson Mandela to Zoella to my next door neighbor and to my best friend, they are all heroes. Heroes are people who change either themselves or other people or both at the same time.

There is not a single person on the world who is perfect. Perfection means the condition, state, or quality of being free or as free as possible from all flaws or defects. Everyone has a flaw and that is what makes us unique, but that doesn’t mean that we flaunt the flaw, but rather we should look at it as a factor that deems as all individuals. With everyone’s flaws, we should be able to be closer since no one is higher than the other and no one is lower than the other. We should all help each other accept our flaws and each other so that we won’t be afraid of our flaws anymore.

For example, my flaw is that I worry excessively and most of the time, I can’t help myself. My worry spirals into fear and anxiety, yet my flaw don’t make me any different from you. I have decided that I will use my worry and my anxiety to help others who feel the same as I do. So, I’m working on a writing piece about anxiety. I will also write a blog post about my anxiety.

Now, the question is “how do I become a hero?” As I said in the last couple of lines in the poem, you just only have to be yourself. Embrace your flaws. Love yourself. Do things that make you happy. Live your life to the fullest. Hold the door open for others. Holding the door open for others is just as great of a deed as doing CPR. Just by being you, you are a hero. Congratulations! You are a hero.

Leave a Reply

