Strange Wild Song|Poetry Breakdown

Poetry breakdown is back. Lately, I’ve been caught up with life and I’ve been stuck in a writer’s block. I suppose that’s why I wrote the entry about the meaning of life. Anyways, I’ll try to maintain this poetry breakdown for a weekly activity.

This poem is called, “Strange Wild Song”. I wrote it April 26, 2014 for the 30/30 Poetry challenge.

Strange Wild Song

I am this strange wild song.
Strangeness envelops me
with an aura of misnomers.
I spin in wild directions
with no specific dictation
in how to stop or where
I should land.
I throw my arms up
not expecting to be lifted up
only I fall forward
and huddle until I am
unable to contain myself.
I am this strange wild song
just as the wind which blows me
until I spin like I’m not spinning.
I am this strange wild song
in which this imagery exceeds me
and I stop and stare.
Have I landed?

This poem is kind of a personification of how I perceive myself. On the outside, I am quite reserved and I am sometimes standing on the outskirts of the large group. I don’t really like attention and I can tell you that I do a lot of observing. That’s what writers do! This poem captures how I think to the most basic form. I tend to think and worry a lot and at times, words cannot describe how I feel because there is just so much going on. On a regular day, my mind is generally calm with the occasional song stuck in my head.

I start off the poem by stating the title already. Titles are interesting. You either have to find it or try to discover the meaning. And here, I state this interesting title. The rest of the poem is basically an explanation of why I chose those 3 words to serve as my title.

If I broke up my poem, it would be in 6 stanzas. Each analogy is like a different explanation of who I am.

The first “stanza” would be “Strangeness envelops me
with an aura of misnomers.” Here, I am saying that I’m a little confused of my identity and I have lots of names for myself. I’m not quite comfortable of my name and what it carries.

The second “stanza” would be “I spin in wild directions with no specific dictation in how to stop or where I should land.” I am basically saying that I am not really defined by anything. I am still unsure in where to go hence the phrase, “or where I should land”. Yet, I am still moving- spinning in hopes that I would land safely.

The third “stanza” would be “I throw my arms up not expecting to be lifted uponly I fall forward and huddle until I am unable to contain myself.” This is my description of what I feel when I feel helpless. To be helpless is to have no power and when I think of having no power, I think of falling in which you cannot get out of it unless you can overcome gravity. Once it happens it happens, but you won’t fall forever. I am saying that I don’t expect much from people when I have such helpless feelings. That’s what anxiety can do. I will write a separate blog post on anxiety.

The fourth “stanza” would be “I am this strange wild song just as the wind which blows me until I spin like I’m not spinning.” I use the term spinning a lot. Spinning can have a violent connotation with flailing and dizziness and it can also have a gentle connotation like a ballerina. In this sentence, I use spinning as a gentle spin. I can sort of see the surroundings and I am not as dizzy as violently spinning. I am starting to get a hold of who I am.

The fifth “stanza” would be “I am this strange wild song in which this imagery exceeds me and I stop and stare.” Again, this stanza means that I am not defined by anything just like the words of this poem. There is a lot of imagery in my poem, but that doesn’t capture who I really am and I am not completely sure about that.

The final and sixth “stanza” would simply be “Have I landed?” Imagine a leaf being blown around by a large gust of wind. At times, it appears as if the wind is going to touch the ground, but another gust sweeps it away making it turn violently That analogy kind of summarizes that question. Gusts of wind continually sweep me off my feet, but I can assure you that I am picking up pieces of myself along the way as my journey goes on.

 

And so, this is the end of my poetry breakdown. I hope that was thorough enough. I will definitely try to maintain poetry breakdown for a weekly series.

 

Good day

Alice

Leave a Reply

